“It’s a Skort!”

One strategy when shopping at thrift stores is to flip through the racks quickly, paying more attention to labels than styles. While labels can be a good guide to judge the quality of second-hand clothing, if you use this strategy alone, you will miss out on a lot of good stuff.

Before I found it, if you had told me one of my favorite pieces of clothing would be a Liz Claiborne skort, I would have thought you were nuts. But, at Goodwill, I found a super-cute navy cotton skirt with beige elephants in my size and just had to try it on.

When I got to the fitting room I was surprised. It was a skort! However, you actually cannot tell it is a skort as the fabric wraps all the way around. It’s just useful if I ever feel the spontaneous urge to do cartwheels.

creedbratton-cartwheel-1

I actually cannot cartwheel, so that never happens, but when I get compliments on my skirt I inevitably say thanks and proceed to show the complementer that “it’s a skort!”

I usually pair the skirt with either a linen blouse and sandals, or a t-shirt and sneakers, depending on how dressed up I want to be.

elephant skort
Here I am wearing my skort in Cambodia, where I was blessed to tour the country with my friend Voleak’s lovely family and some friends! Elephant Skort: Liz Claiborne- Goodwill, Linen Button-Down: Coldwater Creek hand-me-down from Mom, Linen Tank: Gap hand-me-down from mom, Shoes: So old the label is worn off and I can’t remember! Purse- Target

All that to say, don’t be afraid to buy something a little quirky, like a skort, or to buy clothes that are brands from stores you’ve never entered. Your dreams may come true- I got to wear my favorite elephant skirt in a country where I also rode an elephant! Now every time I wear it I have sweet memories.

Skorts might also be a necessity if you visit a country where they squat or sit on the ground for most of their meals. Just sayin’.

IMG_2512
The skort came in handy!
squating
My friend’s family at one of my favorite restaurants we visited. Same day I was wearing the skort- thank goodness!
3 thoughts on ““It’s a Skort!”

  1. Last time I did a cartwheel (all the way back to last week), someone asked, “Was that supposed to be a cartwheel!?” The cartwheel gene is not something we inherited.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your mom was very good at cartwheels and when I was little i could actually pull one off – not so sure about the genetics

    Like

Leave a Reply

