“Is that from Anthropologie?”

I love finding designer steals at thrift shops! But, sometimes labels can be misleading. The best thrifting finds are often random labels, sometimes vintage or hand-made.

While judging quality by name-recognition is a safe bet, you will miss out if you pass on unfamiliar labels. Some of my favorite pieces of clothing have been random labels, or even missing labels.

I bought this blouse because the embroidery details and shape remind me of traditional Ukrainian clothing. I can’t remember the cost now, but it was from Goodwill and definitely cost less than $5!

IMG_8445
Blouse: Goodwill (no label), Belt: Goodwill, Jeans: H&M

People are always surprised to hear I got it thrifting; it looks like it is from Anthro or a boutique! The label says “Criss Cross,” but I could not find anything about it on Google.

IMG_8442
I paired the shirt with a hand-me-down trench from my grandmother for a sunny Central Park Day.

Over Christmas break I got an embroidered shirt for $2.50! I haven’t had the chance to wear it yet since it is just now getting warm here in New York, but I feel like it is so trendy and totally looks like something you could get at Anthropologie. I am also a sucker for all things embroidered, so I can’t wait to wear it!

IMG_8481

The label of this one says Leandra, which at first only brought up Leandra Medine for all the variations I Googled. After I persisted I discovered that it is a crochet brand from the 1960s and 1970s! So cool.

IMG_8482
Check out how gorgeous these details are!

So, next time you are shopping, don’t be a label snob, because you never know when someone will ask “Is that from Anthropologie?” It feels like the trick of the century to say, “No, I paid two dollars for this!”

Leave a Reply

